A Journey

Hi everyone. This is the first time I am trying to write a blog, a Big-LOG from the server inside my head. 😀

This time I choose to write because, may be, I have a lot of things to say, but very few people to hear. So why not say it to the world. I may get some audience. 🙂

Now you must be wondering what the topic is. This is about my journey towards doing my Masters. It’s been almost two years I am working with an IT organization and finally planned to move on for higher studies which was actually my initial planning after B.Tech.

Firstly, I did really bad in GATE 2012 and ended up with a rank of 1025. AIR 1025, that too in 2012 where people who ranked 70, was doubtful to get IITB. But somehow I got few interview calls, God’s grace.

It started with IISC Computational Science M. Tech. This was the one and only call for M. Tech I received. I was at Mumbai, my base branch. Thank to God that there were bus services available from Mumbai to Bangalore, I did not have to fight for railway tickets and I could manage a place to stay. Unfortunately IISC does not arrange for any accommodation.

16th April,It was supposed to be a written test followed by an interview. My test was in 2nd half and I found 1st half test had started so late that our test got delayed by few minutes. “No problem, stay calm and give it a try”, I said. Well, as was expected, it was full with +2 mathematics and that became enough to kill me. The question paper was like,

1. Lim (x->inf) integration (0 to inf)1/(1+(x/a)^n) dx

2. coefficient of the term with out x (sqrt(3x)+/(2.x^2))^10

3. n*n matrices AB, eigen values lambda, eigen value of lambda*BA?

4. F(x) = integration (0 to x) (x-t)f(t)dt. F'(x)?

5. |z-1|=5*|z-i| represents an equation of circle?ellipse?

6. No of functions from a set of cardinality m to n. mn

7. System of linear eqn, no of roots?

8. logx base 2 = |x|. No of solutions?

9. log base 2(log base 3(log base 4 x))) = 2. x?

10. Probability f having only one odd number.dice rolled 5times.

11. hexagon n square of same perimetre. ratio of area?

12. Square of area 6, rotated along its diagoanal. area covered by rotation?

13. [ -sin(alpha) -cos(alpha)]

    [ -cos(alpha) sin(alpha) ], mutiplied to a vector.then, rotation about orgin?

 translation?reflection?

14. simple array ques

15. Harmonic Oscillation, eqn given, phase lag between phi and d(phi)/dt?

There was 30 questions for 45 mins which seemed to go very fast.

Finally, the result came out at 5pm on SERC website and I was not selected. Booked a bus for next morning and back to Mumbai.

Hey, are you thinking this is the end of the story, no dear it has just started.